Author Archives: admin

William Brewer and children

The First Families

Although the Crooked Billet Inn and the stone-built gunpowder magazine had been at Creeks Mouth since the mid 1700s, little is known about the very first residents. The first documented families living at Creeks Mouth are from the 1841 census. The village, as such, wasn’t built until the mid 1850s but there were three very

Read More

Village life

Creekmouth Village was a unique, largely forgotten hamlet at the southern end of what is now River Road in Barking, Essex, where the River Roding meets the mighty Thames. Early records show the area was originally referred to as Barking Creek, later becoming Creek’s Mouth, Creeksmouth and, finally, Creekmouth. The mention of Creekmouth Village to

Read More